Women's Premier League's dates have been confirmed

BCCI has confirmed that the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League will begin on March 4th and the finals will be on March 26. The first season will be held entirely at two venues in Mumbai: the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium.

BCCI chief executive officer Hemang Amin also confirmed the player auction for February 13 in Mumbai. Amin said 1500 players had registered and the final list would be released later this week. A maximum of 90 players can be bought at the auction, with each squad ranging between 15 and 18 players.

The start date of March 4 means that the WPL will begin eight days after the Women’s T20 World Cup ends on February 26 in South Africa. To reduce the logistical challenges for players and coaches travelling from South Africa to India, BCCI decided to limit the first season to Mumbai.