On this day: 28/11/2022

In 1979, the match which helped ICC to introduce fielding restrictions in limited over formats. The ODI match between West Indies and England in Sydney which led to the introduction of fielding restrictions in the One-day internationals. In the match, England beat West Indies by 2 runs. West Indies needed 3runs off the last ball. England skipper Mike Brearly positioned all his fielders including the wicketkeeper in the boundary line. It was within the rules, but not for much longer.

Fielding restrictions were first introduced in the Australian season during the year 1980-81. By 1992 only 2 fielders were allowed to be outside of the 30-yard circle during the first 15 overs. Then 5 fielders were allowed to be positioned outside of the 30-yard circle during the remaining 35 overs. Then in 2005 2 fielders outside the circle for 15 overs were shortened to 10 overs and introduced 2 more powerplays. In 2008, the batting team were given the opportunity in using a powerplay out of those 2. In 2011, the other two powerplays were made mandatory to be used within the 11th - 40th over. Previously teams can use the powerplay anywhere between the 11th - 50th over.

On October 30, 2012, changes to the rules for fielding restrictions in one-day matches were officially implemented by the ICC. The number of Powerplay blocks was reduced to two; the first occurs within the first 10 overs, restricting the team to two fielders outside the 30-yard circle. The second block, the Batting Powerplay with a restriction of three fielders outside the circle, must occur by the 40th over. The number of fielders outside the 30-yard circle in non-Powerplay overs has also been reduced to four (from five)

In June 2015 rules changed to do away with batting powerplay, and allowed up to 5 fielders outside the circle in the last 10 overs. The 2015 rule changes also included the removal of batting power play.

Whereas in the Twenty20 format a team can have a maximum of five fielders outside 30 yards (27 m) (25 yards (23 m) for women) after the first six overs of twenty overs. The restrictions for the powerplay is same and there is no batting or bowling powerplay in T20 Matches.

1 Like