Nayan Mongia, Shiv Sundar Das, Maninder Singh and Ajay Ratra has applied to Indian Selector Position

The deadline for applications closed on Monday (November 28), with the BCCI now likely to appoint a Cricket Advisory Committee to conduct interviews before announcing their decision. The first assignment for the new selection panel will be to pick the Indian team for the limited-overs series at home against Sri Lanka in 2023.

Committee Panel led by Chetan Sharma will be in place till the new Committee is appointed. They are now following up closely the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy which is a 50-over domestic tournament. Shiv Sundar Das, Hemang Badani, Ajay Ratre, Maninder Singh, Nayan Mongia are the prominent players who have applied for the post.

Other than them Mumbai’s Sameer Dighe and Salil Ankola, along with UP’s Gyanendra Pandey and Punjab’s Reetinder Sodhi have also expressed interest in the job. Ajit Agarkar former Indian medium-fast bowler didn’t apply this time who expressed his wish to be a part of committee last time.

The BCCI had put down a minimum qualification level of seven Tests or 30 first-class matches, or 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches for applicants. They should have also retired “at least five years previously” and should not have been over 60 years of age. The committee when picked will comprise five members - one from each zone.