Leading wicket-takers in each edition of the T20 World Cup

2007 T20 World Cup - Umar Gul
Umar Gul finished with 13 wickets in the tournament, one more than Stuart Clark, Shahid Afridi and RP Singh. He averaged 11.92 with the ball and conceded runs at an impressive economy rate of 5.60.

2010 T20 World Cup - Dirk Nannes
A key part of Australia’s bowling attack in the Caribbean Islands in this tournament, Dirk Nannes finished as the leading wicket-taker in the T20 WC, taking 14 wickets at an average of 13.07 and an economy rate of just over seven.

2012 T20 World Cup - Ajantha Mendis
With 15 wickets in six matches in the tournament, Ajantha Mendis set the international stage on fire, but could not finish the tournament with a title win despite his stellar showing.

2014 T20 World Cup - Imran Tahir and Ahsan Malik
South Africa’s Imran Tahir and Netherlands’ Ahsan Malik shared the top honours for bowlers at the T20 World Cup in 2014, taking 12 wickets apiece.

2016 T20 World Cup - Mohammad Nabi
Afghanistan’s spinners made a mighty impression at the T20 World Cup in India with Nabi and Rashid Khan finishing at the top of the wicket-takers chart. Nabi took 12 wickets, averaging 13.66 while Rashid took 11 at an average of 16.63.

2021 T20 World Cup - Wanindu Hasaranga
With 16 wickets in 8 matches at the T20 World Cup, Wanindu Hasaranga stole the show with the ball in UAE.

(source: ICC)

1 Like