ICC T20 World Cup 2022 - All Team squads (Officially announced squads)

England T20 WC Squad:
England recently announced the squad for the Pakistan Tour and the 2022 T20 WC. Jason Roy lost his place in the squad because of his poor international & domestic form and though Jonny Bairstow was part of the initial squad, he’s got injured and replaced by Alex Hales.

Australia T20 WC Squad:
The defending champions Australia named a strong squad for the World Cup at home. Former Singapore player Tim David has been named in the squad since he’s eligible to play for Australia. This will boost the lower middle order, making it one of the best in the competition along with Glenn Maxwell & Marcus Stoinis.

South Africa T20 WC Squad:
South Africa may have not reached the semi finals in 2021 WC but the team’s performance was good and they’ll be looking forward to earn their first World Cup trophy. Since last World Cup they have further strengthened with the likes of Tristan Stubbs and Rossouw in the middle order and their bowling lineup is one of the best for the Australian conditions.

India T20 WC squad:
India has gone in with an expected set of players for the event & only surprise was keeping Mohammed Shami in the reserves instead of 15 man squad. The major absence is that of Ravindra Jadeja, who recently went through a surgery and it’ll take a while for him to recover from it. However, the squad looks imbalance with only one specialized left handed batsman (Rishabh Pant) playing in the squad and this is where the team struggled to find the right combination in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022. However, return of Jasprit Bumrah will boost them in the death overs and Bhuvneshwar Kumar can be utilized better before the start of the death overs.

West Indies T20 WC Squad:
West Indies has gone with the squad that we are familiar with for the past 2-3 months under the leadership of Nicholas Pooran. There is no room for Andre Russel or Sunil Narine in the squad. Chief selector Desmond Haynes explained the reason for exclusion of both of them as:

“We had a meeting with Andre Russell earlier in the year. We’re still not convinced yet, he’s not performing as well as we would like to see him in the competition (CPL). I think in the situation with Andre Russell, we’ve just decided to move on, and look for someone who’s in form, and doing well in the T20 format,”

However, they have included the big-hitting opener, Evin Lewis, into the squad. Evin Lewis was excluded from the squad for the recently concluded T20I series.

Afghanistan T20 WC Squad:
Afghanistan selectors have left out Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad from the squad, all of whom were a part of the Asia Cup squad.

Meanwhile, middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, all-rounder Qais Ahmad and the right-arm quick Salim Safi have been added to the list.

Pakistan T20 WC Squad:
Pakistan’s ace pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi is set to return from his injury as he’s been included in the 15-man world cup squad announced by Pakistan selectors.

The squad also featured Shan Masood, who is yet to play in a T20I, while Haider Ali was recalled to the side after last featuring in the format in December 2021.

There is no room for Fakhar Zaman in the 15-man main squad. However, he has been sidelined to the reserves after a knee injury and despite much buzz on social media, there was also no recall for veteran Shoaib Malik.

Hasan Ali, who was named as a replacement after multiple injuries in the bowling department, has been left out of the squad. He was not even named in the reserves.

Bangladesh T20 WC Squad:
Former captain Mahmud Ullah has been dropped from the Bangladesh squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 which will be led by Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh’s ended up without a single victory in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022, which influences the selectors to make some drastic selection decisions and they’ve made some wholesome changes other than MuhamudUllah.

The selectors have left out Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan, and Mohammad Naim, all of whom were part of the Asia Cup squad. They will be also without the services of their experienced middle-order batter in Mushfiqur Rahim, who retired from the format after the Asia Cup.

Bangladesh have recalled Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Najmul Hossain Shanto, making it to the final 15 after missing the Asia Cup.

Zimbabwe T20 WC Squad:
Zimbabwe skipper Craig Ervine returning from a hamstring niggle to lead the side as Zimbabwe named the 15-man squad under the leadership of Craig Ervine. The squad also sees a return from injuries for Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Milton Shumba while Blessing Muzarabani also comes back to lead the pace attack.

Sri Lanka T20 WC Squad
Sri Lanka have named Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara in the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando are named by Sri Lankan selectors as a players on standby. However, only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the squad to Australia.

Young fast bowler with the sling action, Matheesha Pathirana, who made his debut at the Asia Cup, Nuwan Thushara and Asitha Fernando have missed out the squad and reserves list.

…… This will be updated continuously……

1 Like