BCCI announces the squad for the finals of WTC 2021-2023

BCCI has announced their squad for the finals of WTC 2021-23 which is going to be held in The Oval from June 7-11. Ajinkya Rahane sealed his spot in the WTC finals team after Shreyas Iyer was ruled out due to injury and will undergo surgery. Rahane topped the run charts for Mumbai in a primarily forgettable Ranji Trophy 2022-23 campaign, his 634 runs and performances in the ongoing IPL 2023 are exceptional. Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat remain the four frontline fast bowlers. Due to pitch conditions India has dropped one spinner for one additional pacer. India dropped Kuldeep Yadav for Shardul Thakur. Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel will lead the spin attack for India.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat